Home

A participatory photographic project by Nadia Bettega in conjunction with the British Institute of Human  Rights features portraits of myself and my  partner in crime Angelina.

The show is on at the Horst gallery from the 7th to the 14th of April

The show is connected to the launch of a website in which the participatory process can continue.

Visit the website and contribute your ideas:  http://www.participatoryportraits.org/

Angelina Namiba
I work for an organisation called Positively Women. The most rewarding thing for me is seeing HIV positive women move from isolation to involvement, enabling them to have a voice, and to influence policies that affect our lives.  I speak out about issues affecting these women to challenge the stereotypes that exist about people who are HIV positive. We know our rights, we get the information and we claim our rights. We cannot just sit around and wait for them to be given to us.
The object I chose was my daughter’s scan. This reflects my interest in the sexual health and reproductive rights of women living with HIV. I strongly believe that we have a right to choose whether or not to have relationships; whether or not to have children. I hope I inspire other people by being visible.

Silvia Petretti
I was first diagnosed with HIV in 1997 in Rome. I was shocked by the result.
I wanted to do something meaningful with my life. I came into contact with Positively Women who offered me psychological and social support and many of the services I had not been offered at the time of my test. I now work for the organisation as a community development manager. Women are often still not taken seriously and there is not enough support out there. Stigma, discrimination and gender roles make women more vulnerable. I chose to be photographed with my medication because I believe everyone has the right to health and a sense of well-being. Not everyone who is HIV positive has access to ARV treatment. We are all human and it is important that we know our rights, demand them, and be a collective voice and feel connected to a community.

One thought on “The Changing Face of Human Rights

Leave a Reply

